Home Cricket ICC AWARDS 2016: R Ashwin Cricketer of the year

ICC AWARDS 2016: R Ashwin Cricketer of the year



Icc has announced all the award for this year.Below are the list of winners:

ICC Cricketer of the Year

R Ashwin has been awarded the ICC cricketer of the year and Test cricketer of the year. Two Indian Player had previously won the cricketer of the year award.

Rahul Drivid and Sachin had won the award previously.

The current number one Test bowler Ashwin claimed 48 wickets and scored 336 runs in just eight tests during September 2015 to September 2016. Also he become the second fastest to take 200 wickets claiming 72 wickets in just 12 tests in year 2016.


Other Awards: ICC AWARDS 2016

Quinton de Knock was awarded ICC ODI Player of the year. During ICC voting period, Knock has scored 793 runs in just 16 ODIs with 4 centuries.

Carlos Brathwaite won the T20 performance of the year award for his 34 not out off 10 balls in T20 world cup final against England. He hit 4 sixes in a row to Ben Strokes to win the title for West Indies.

Click here to watch Brathwaite 4 sixes in a row

Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh) won the Emerging Cricketer of the year.

Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad won the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year.

New Zealand’s Suzie Bates won the Women’s ODI and T20I Player-of-the-Year awards.

Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq won the Spirit of Cricket award

Best Umpire -Marais Erasmus


ICC has also announced the ICC test and ODI team of the year:

ICC Test Team of the Year 2016 1 David Warner, 2 Alastair Cook (capt), 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Joe Root, 5 Adam Voges, 6 Jonny Bairstow, 7 Ben Stokes, 8 R Ashwin, 9 Rangana Herath, 10 Mitchell Starc, 11 Dale Steyn, 12 Steven Smith


ICC ODI Team of the Year 2016 1 David Warner, 2 Quinton de Kock, 3 Rohit Sharma, 4 Virat Kohli, 5 AB de Villiers, 6 Jos Buttler, 7 Mitchell Marsh, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Sunil Narine, 12 Imran Tahir